EU restrictive measures against Russia in response to the crisis in Ukraine

Courtesy of Council of the European Union.

Since March 2014, the EU has progressively imposed restrictive measures in response to the illegal annexation of Crimea and deliberate destabilisation of Ukraine.

The economic sanctions were prolonged for 6 months successively on 1 July 2016, 19 December 2016, and on 28 June 2017, each time following an assessment of the Minsk agreements implementation. The economic sanctions are currently extended until 31 January 2018.

These restrictive measures:
— Limit access to EU primary and secondary capital markets for 5 major Russian majority state-owned financial institutions and their majority-owned subsidiaries established outside of the EU, as well as three major Russian energy and three defence companies
— Impose an export and import ban on trade in arms
— Establish an export ban for dual-use goods for military use or military end users in Russia
— Curtail Russian access to certain sensitive technologies and services that can be used for oil production and exploration